Design · Home · Kids Room #1

Kid’s Room #1 – Urbane Bronze Accent Wall

Here’s the window wall in the bedroom. We just repaired the ceiling in this room. Prior to the ceiling repair, we removed the baseboard trim, filled in the gaps, and replaced it. Next up: the walls. The kid had his heart set on red and black walls. I gently guided him away from such a bold choice. Then he chose green. Then all red. Then all black. Then green. He’s a fickle one.

As the adult, I took it upon myself to just go ahead and do what I thought was best. This bedroom has a great window than spans the entire width of the room. It looks out into the woods, and I thought it would look beautiful if we painted the wall really dark so the wall itself was like a frame for the wooded landscape view. I’ve had my eye on Sherwin Williams Urbane Bronze for a while, and this seemed like the perfect application.

I splurged and bought Sherwin Williams paint that said one coat would provide adequate coverage. It was $40 for a quart, so OF COURSE it was going to do its job. One coat later:

Not quite enough coverage for me, so two coats later:

I painted the trim Urbane Bronze, too:

I love it. It does exactly what it’s supposed to do: Draws the eyes to the outdoors.

Next up, painting the other walls. The requested color is green…..

3 thoughts on “Kid’s Room #1 – Urbane Bronze Accent Wall

Leave a comment